Photo 1: From right to left: Aiden McClave (Dr. Nicholas J. Vincent M.D. and Sue F. Vincent Scholarship), Garrett Briggs (Marion P. Alves Scholarship), Juan Uribe (Laurie Converse Scholarship and The Sarah Gregory Memorial Scholarship).
Photo 2: From right to left: Jesse Moline (Marion P. Alves Scholarship, Robert C. Louth Memorial Scholarship, SBCC Nursing Alumni Association Scholarship, Erny Margaret Edelson, and the R.N. Memorial Scholarship in Nursing), Paige Gillespie (Erny Margaret Edelson, R.N. Memorial Scholarship in Nursing, SBCC Nursing Alumni Association Scholarship, and The Sarah Gregory Memorial Scholarship), Morian Velasquez (Associate Degree in Nursing Achievement Scholarship, and the Madeleine M. Sicotte Memorial Associate Degree in Nursing Scholarship).

Over 150 students – joined by friends and family, as well as SBCC faculty and staff – attended the reception in the SBCC Student Services Courtyard.

Gretchen Hewlett, Major Gifts Officer at the Foundation for SBCC, opened the reception with a short welcome and introduced 2012-13 SBCC Faculty Lecturer of the year, Kathleen Molloy. Professor Molloy gave a moving presentation by providing examples of students who had overcome adversity through hard work and dedication to their education.

Professor Molloy was followed by SBCC President, Dr. Lori Gaskin, who reiterated the value and importance of scholarships, which not only provide important financial assistance, but also give students the sense of pride and encouragement they need to succeed.

Hewlett concluded the reception by inviting student scholars to introduce themselves and the scholarship(s) they received. Many students thanked the donors that made their scholarships possible, as well as their friends, family and mentors that have supported them throughout their journey.

The Foundation for SBCC funds programs and scholarships that directly benefit students at Santa Barbara City College. This year, the Foundation for SBCC gave out nearly 700 scholarships and awards to over 500 students, totaling $833,700.

For more information, or if you would like to establish an award or scholarship, please contact Erica Mesker, Development Associate, by email at or by phone at (805) 730-4406.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.