Those agreements included furloughs for certain groups of County employees. At its December 6, 2011 meeting, the County Board of Supervisors approved plans to implement full or partial closures of many County Departments beginning on Friday, December 23, 2011 and ending when all offices reopen on Tuesday, January 3, 2012 after the New Year’s Day holiday.

Public safety, public assistance, and public health programs will remain available to the public during this time as the Sheriff, Fire, Public Health, Social Services, Mental Health, Emergency Management, and Public Works departments will remain open to provide essential services to County residents. The Registrar of Voters will be open one day only: Friday, December 30th, for Candidate Filing. In addition, limited staffing will be maintained in the Agricultural Commissioner’s Officer, Clerk of the Board, Clerk-Recorder-Assessor’s Office, and many general administrative offices in order to provide essential services.

A comprehensive list of full and partial department closures, as well as of those departments that will remain open, is attached and available on the County’s website:


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.