Paul Wellman

“No way!” shouted The Independent‘s publisher Randy Campbell when he heard those words last Thursday in Las Vegas at the 13th annual EPpy Awards. Sponsored by Editor & Publisher and MediaWeek magazines, the EPpys which honor media companies for their Internet achievements are considered one of the top awards in the world for Web sites. Upon receiving the award amid applause from digital journalism’s biggest names, Campbell thanked the staff for their work on independent.com, which re-launched in April 2007 and features hundreds of stories every week, attracting more than 160,000 visitors per month. Along with everyone at The Indy who contributes to the site, the leaders are (from left): Senior Editor Matt Kettmann, News Editor Drew Mackie, Listings Editor Rachel Weight, Webmaster Robert LeBlanc, Associate Arts Editor Aly Comingore, News Reporter Chris Meagher, Web Content Manager Michael S. Gahagan, and Managing Editor Michelle Drown.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.