The SBCC Board of Trustees has approved new voter districts for future trustee elections. Historically, the seven elected seats on the board (though each one technically represents one of five regional districts such as Carpinteria and the Mesa) were decided via an “at large” election. Now, under the new rules, each seat will be determined by only the votes of their respective districts. Further, with last Thursday’s approval, two new voter districts were established. Starting in 2012, the new districts — which are all roughly the same size population-wise — will be Carpinteria/Montecitio, Goleta, Santa Barbara (downtown), Santa Barbara (unincorporated, Gaviota, etc.), Santa Barbara (the Mesa), Santa Barbara (Isla Vista, Noleta), and Santa Barbara (Mission Canyon and various north areas).


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.