Latest on School Board, SBCC Trustee Races

Thus far, Ed Heron is the only one of three incumbents on the Santa Barbara School Board to file for reelection. Susan Deacon and Annette Cordero have not. Pedro Paz, an employee with Santa Barbara County, has indicated he will run for one of the seats, though he has not qualified for the ballot. Candidates have until 8/10 to file for office.

As of Tuesday, no candidates had filed to run in three Santa Barbara City College Board of Trustees districts. Redistricting removed two incumbents — Joan Livingston and Morris Jurkowitz — from their districts, while Luis Villegas is the incumbent in area 4. Jurkowitz is now in Dr. Peter Haslund’s district, while Livingston is now in Marsha Croninger’s district. Candidates have until 8/10 to file for office, and if no incumbent files to run, the deadline is extended until 8/15.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.