Members: Aaron Johnson (vocals/guitar); Robin Ryder (drums); Scott Okuma (bass); and new guy Armand.

Albums: The Sweet Smell of Asphalt (2004, Blackbird Music); A New Canvas (fall 2007, Blackbird).

Style: Alternative indie rock.

Influences: Old blues, alt rock, post hardcore, metal, and pop.

Prior Gigs: SOhO, Spaceland, Billy O’s.

The Skinny: Ventura’s Le Meu Le Purr formed in October 2003 as the bandmates’ separate projects were ending. Robin dared Aaron to write 10 songs in a month, who in turn asked Scott to jam on the songs together, and it’s been indie rock love ever since. The 10 songs Aaron completed on his dare became the band’s first album, The Sweet Smell of Asphalt. I fell in love with LMLP at an impressive SOhO show in May, watching them burst off the stage with energy in a speaker-climbing, genre-bending rock show, producing a whole lot of sound and feeling for just three guys. Now there are four bandmates, and things can only get better. Preview songs from A New Canvas, especially the addictive anthem “Poprocks and Soda,” at and see

Upcoming Shows: Opening for The Veltexans at SOhO on Thursday, August 9, at 9 p.m.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.