UCSB faculty members Douglas Burbank and Gary Horowitz were elected to the National Academy of Sciences this week, the highest honor that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist or engineer. This brings the number of active UCSB faculty members elected to the academy to 32; there are 2,222 members of the elite organization. Burbank, director of UCSB’s Institute for Crustal Studies and professor of earth science, specializes in tectonic geomorphology and the physiographic evolution of mountain ranges, and Horowitz, professor of physics, researches Einstein’s theory of general relativity and its synthesis with quantum mechanics.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.