The Santa Barbara International Film Festival, presented by UGG® Australia, is pleased to announce the second weekend panelists. SBIFF has become known for their highly-acclaimed Panel Series where accomplished industry professionals, most of whom have emerged as Academy Award nominees, come together for lively, informative and revealing panel discussions. The Panel Series is presented by Cox Communications.

Starting at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, February 8, at the Lobero Theatre will be the It Starts With the Script panel, which brings together some of today’s most talented and innovative writing professionals as they discuss the process of giving life to film. Moderated by IndieWIRE’s Anne Thompson, this year’s Academy Award nominated panelists include: John Ridley (12 Years a Slave), Eric Warren Singer (American Hustle), Bob Nelson (Nebraska), Jeff Pope (Philomena), and Craig Borten (Dallas Buyers Club).

Following the writer’s panel, at 2:00 p.m., is SBIFF’s Directors on Directing panel, where some of the world’s most renowned directors dicsuss their films, their craft, and their challenges. Moderated by Hollywood Reporter’s Scott Feinberg, this year’s Academy Award-nominated panelists include: Jennifer Lee (Frozen), Morgan Neville (20 Feet From Stardom), Joshua Oppenheimer (The Act of Killing), Paolo Sorrentino (The Great Beauty), and Felix Van Groeningen (Broken Circle Breakdown). Sponsored by Brooks Institute.

The SBIFF is proud to announce the newly installed Masters of VFX Visual Effects Technology Panel. Beginning at 4:00 p.m., join three award-winning masters of visual effects technology as they discuss the latest advancements and the influence that technology has on filmmaking. Moderated by Feature Post Production 20th Century Fox’s President, Ted Gagliano, the VFX Technology Panel will feature Oscar-winning VFX Supervisors Joe Letteri (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) and Rob Legato (The Wolf of Wall Street), and Oscar nominee VFX Supervisor Tim Webber (Gravity). Sponsored by Adobe.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.